Reach for the Sun

Since Episode 19, season 3 of Scrubs, I’ve been a massive, MASSIVE fan of this song: Section 9 (Light of Day / Reach for the Sun) by The Polyphonic Spree. This song has both motivated and inspired me to reach out and do exactly what i want to do and know that dreams aren’t unreachable.

I know that my dreams in comparison to others aren’t exactly difficult to achieve. I don’t crave fame or fortune (well fortune would be nice), i don’t plan on saving the world, or curing cancer. All i want to do in life is educate. I don’t want to be a teacher but i want to develop programs to ensure that young people in Australia are well informed in regards to sex and sexuality, drugs, alcohol, bullying, body issues, social media and relationships. I don’t think enough emphasis is put on these aspects because there are so many variables to consider.

I know it’s going to be a long, tough road. I know i’m going to run into a number of problems, whether through legislation or backlash. I know in terms of sex education that there are still those who believe that by educating their kids, it’s going to make them do it which couldn’t be further from the truth. Studies have shown that teenagers who are educated about sex/drugs/alcohol are more likely to hold off doing them and won’t succumb to peer pressure. There are also studies to show that those who are educated won’t engage in binge drinking or have sex with multiple partners without protection or before they are ready (R. Short, International Journal of Gynecology & Obstetrics
Volume 63, Supplement 1, 1 December 1998, Pages S147-S150).

The sad fact is that many parents are neglecting their parenting roles when it comes to issues that seem too difficult and they leave them to the teachers to handle. Teachers are not meant to take on a parenting role when it comes to issues that ultimately have various stances as it all comes down to morals and values that each family holds.

***

I’ve done quite alot of study in the area of social behaviour, I’ve also developed numerous skills and tested a number of theories whilst doing a masters in counselling so i know i have the background knowledge and the drive to make this a success. What i need now is a qualification which I’m hoping to complete over the next two years. I just wish i could start it as soon as possible because uni doesn’t start until the end of February next year which is still quite far away and i don’t want to lose my way between now and then.

But I’m hopeful that this will work. I feel too strongly about it to let it go.

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Achieve and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

