Find a Healthier You

This ad came out awhile back and it bothered me then and it still bothers me now. I’m sure I’m not the only one but i felt cheated when i first saw it. It is emotional, provocative and i was positive that the message of the ad was what i  imagined it to be. But it wasn’t.

This is the ad.

I felt cheated because i thought it was a TAC ad in time for Christmas. It was emotional to me, and i was quite unsettled when at the end of the ad, it’s clear it’s for health insurance. I know, your own health is important but i didn’t like the way they had made the ad. It’s a completely emotional response. I can’t quite put into words why it makes me so angry but i think it has to do with the fact that these sorts of ads are generally reserved for ads about loss (drink driving, quit smoking, speeding). I don’t like having such an emotional response like that when essentially the ad is selling me something. It’s not about our safety or a reminder to be careful, it’s about making money. I don’t think it’s fair to play into that sort of emotion.

Here is an amazing example of an ad for the Embrace Life campaign that i first caught on the Gruen Tranfer a couple of years back.

With ads like this, i don’t mind having the emotional response, because that is what touches people and makes them remember to be safe.

Are there any ads that you thought was something completely different to what it was actually for?

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Ads, Entertainment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

