Britney Spears: The Cabaret

Last night I headed off to Chapel off Chapel with my sister as for her Christmas present. I had purchased two tickets to see Britney Spears: The Cabaret starring Christie Whelan (which I found out about here).

It was a purely selfish present. I wanted to see it, my sister loves Britney, therefore I could get a gift out of the way and see a show! Win/Win!

Chapel off Chapel

It was beautiful.

We were actually in the Loft, not the Chapel and it was a small, cozy, intimate area with maybe 200 people at most (I’m not sure, I’m terrible at estimating numbers). It was all done acoustically and it was really funny. But it was also quite dark. Christie goes through the show as Britney explaining all those moments in her life. Her first single, her first love, her first heartbreak, her marriages, the breakdown, her kids being taken away, her comeback and new albums. Watching the show, it’s really quite tragic the way her life has been played out as if it’s some sort of show instead of being someone’s life.

The main thing that I got from the show: Britney’s songs are actually quite beautiful. Her early songs, whilst not musical masterpieces, are very relatable and very true. In the context of her life, the music was really touching and added such a beautiful element to the show that is missed when it’s not stripped down to it’s bare essentials. Songs like “Everytime,” “Hit Me Baby One More time” and “Toxic” were hauntingly beautiful.

Christie Whelan performing “Toxic” by Britney Spears from her show “Britney Spears: The Cabaret, on Spicks and Specks (Episode 6, 2011).

(if you still don’t believe me that her songs are actually quite brilliant, check out this video of Travis covering “Hit Me Baby One More Time.”

Christie Whelan was the perfect performer for this Cabaret (she wasn’t alone. She had a pianist, Mathew Frank but the majority of the show was just Christie). Her voice, her acting, her singing was breathtakingly beautiful. Although the show was labelled a comedy, I actually left feeling a little unsettled (much like I did at the end of the first Paranormal Activity movie where the credits flash on screen for 5 seconds, leaving you with no time to adjust and take in what you’ve just seen) by the events of Britney’s life and thinking how someone with so much, could still go through so many human emotions and experiences and basically still manage to f*ck it up.

All in all, I really did love it. It was a brilliant performance!

The show is still running on Wednesday – Sunday until January 29th (with the exception of Australia Day).

Tickets can be purchased here as well as an interview from Timeout with Christie Whelan about the show.

Are you a closet Britney fan? You are! Aren’t you??? What’s your favourite Britney song?

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Britney Spears: The Cabaret

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! I, too, bought tickets for my sister as a “present” when the show first came out, but really I was dying to see it myself! It really is one of the best shows I’ve seen 🙂

Leave a Reply

