Frustrating Monday

Unfortunately today’s Happy Monday is replaced with Frustrated Monday.

I cannot believe how angry I am to be at work today. We’re short staffed again which is not unusual. Yet despite being short staffed, a staff member was still sent to the other building to help with a fully staffed team because they are busy. I don’t ever remember agreeing to constantly take on 4 people’s role, or when I was consulted about learning a whole new system for another department that I don’t want to work for and don’t technically work for.

I feel like I’m being asked to contribute more than anyone else is (and I know it sounds exaggerated but I’m the only one here who works most of the week, everyone else is on 3 days or 2 days a week). I’m getting pestered by others as to why things haven’t been done and then I get frustrated because how am I meant to get anything done when all I’m doing is answering phone calls all day? If I’m expected to run a call centre on my own, then surely it’s expected that everything else will suffer.

I really hate my job. I hate how much it has changed, that none of us have been consulted about the changes, they were just made. I hate that I’m supposed to be ok with the changes. That I’m not only already doing multiple roles in my current job but being made to learn how to do a whole other job and not being compensated accordingly for it. The reason this is happening is because the other area are quite busy and need help. Instead of doing the sane thing and hiring a new person, they’re relying on my team to help them, despite the fact that we only ever have 2 staff member’s on per day. Surely I should be getting extra in my pay to do this because again, it’s not in my job description and now what I applied for.

I’ve spoken to HR about my situation. That I’m not happy here and that I feel my position description has changed completely. Apparently it hasn’t. So I’m at a loss as to what to do. I’ve been looking for new jobs but I’m either way under qualified or way overqualified. Which again, is so completely frustrating.

I don’t look forward to work. I call in sick quite often simply because I don’t want to be here. And I don’t particularly care about it anymore. I used to. I used to be considerate and if I was feeling sick, try to hold off until my day off to get better but now I don’t care. Not since I found out the reason most of the other staff members are away are complete lies.

I hate that there’s been a big push on “communication” within the company, but what that’s translated to is us lower beings communicate with the higher ups but not vice versa.

I hate feeling this way. I feel so icky and gross and nothing seems to make it better. I know alot of people are in my situation. Which surprisingly doesn’t make me feel any better. I just figure that I spend so much of my time at work that I should at least enjoy it enough but I just don’t.

 

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Happy Monday, Work and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frustrating Monday

  1. Aw, I know how you feel hun, but I think you’re burnt out…*gives you a hug*

    We all go through it, I know I am/did, we can chat more about it next week…but you really might have to try and look for another job. It’s an awful feeling not wanting to go to work…we spend so much time at work, it’s no good being miserable for all of it!

Leave a Reply

