Dentists… and your lips!

I had another dentist appointment today which went well but the surprising thing is that despite having had really good experiences so far at this dentist, I still get nervous and tense. I wasn’t sure why but I think I’ve figured it out.

I don’t like the noises. I don’t like hearing the drill and the vacuum and the scraping. I don’t mind seeing the instruments go into my mouth but I can’t stand the noise. And I can’t stand silence because I assume it’s bad.

Dental Instruments

Today I had two small fillings and one massive one which needed basically a crown over it to hold.

In previous visits, I’d always found it odd how much my lips hurt compared to everything else.  They’re always so dry. Obviously the vacuum sucks your saliva away so even if you wanted to, you can’t moisturise your lips. There’s no point putting balm on them beforehand because it’ll get wiped away. So last night I prepared myself for the inevitable pain.

Here’s what I did:

Jurlique’s Rose Love Balm

Step 1: Yesterday I used my Jurlique Love Balm and although I don’t normally have to use it over and over again, I reapplied alot throughout the day.

Vaseline Petroleum Jelly

Step 2: Last night, I got out some Vaseline, slathered it on my lips, wet a towel with hot water and placed it over my lips for 5 – 10 minutes.

Step 3: I slathered on some more Vaseline, got out an old toothbrush and slowly exfoliated my lips to ensure that all the dead skin was removed and my lips were silky smooth.

Step 4: I wiped off the rest of the Vaseline and put some more Love Balm on. My lips now felt silky smooth.

and Voila! Silky Smooth Lips!

Not my lips. Results may vary

My lips were still very sore after the dentist. I had a long appointment, almost 2.5 hours and E, my dental nurse timed me and said I had my mouth open for at least 1 hour and 57 minutes. Which is a long time. However this time, my lips didn’t crack thanks to my nurturing last night.

So here’s my advice. We all worry about how much the actual dental work is going to hurt, but for me, I worry more about my mouth and skin (thank you high pain threshold!!!). If you know you’re going in for a long session, make sure you moisturise your lips because they can crack and bleed afterwards.

And the last thing you want, when you’re mouth is numb and sore, is knowing you could have potentially made it better for yourself!

 

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

