no!

Sometimes I really hate my job. And I don’t mean the office politics or what I actually do (even though I do hate it). Generally what I hate about my job is dealing with international students or students who don’t speak much English. It sounds terrible, doesn’t it?

What I mean is that English as a second language (ESL) students will generally take what you say and won’t argue. Especially when it comes to terms and conditions. It bothers me because I know that I can say one thing to an ESL student that doesn’t benefit them at all and they will just accept it, even if they don’t agree with it, but if I said it to an English speaking person and they didn’t agree with it, they will argue. And this arguing will eventually lead them to get what they want. Not from me, but ultimately the situation gets escalated to managers and they generally give the biggest pain in the ass whatever they want to make them happy.

It makes me angry.

But what can I do?

I don’t have any lee-way so I have to stick to procedure and comply but what is the point when all it takes is a bit of arguing and most people get what they want regardless of procedure. Is it fair that just because someone doesn’t have the language skills to argue means they end up with a different, less desirable outcome when someone else wouldn’t?

But I don’t blame them for not wanting to argue. It can be intimdating and I see it alot in stores, at events, anywhere really. I do try to help them out as much as possible when I can because I don’t think it’s fair but sometimes honestly, I can’t be bothered. Because it is added work and when you’re dealing with difficult people all the time, sometimes it is a relief when you can just say no and have the person accept it.

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to no!

  1. Ingrid says:

    I was an ESL student but I never really needed anything changed. I do agree with you though, I don’t argue much but that’s just my personality, not because I can’t find the right words. xx

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      I’m not much of an arguer either! But i feel uncomfortable knowing that someone can’t articulate themselves the way they want to, and so don’t argue when they probably should

Leave a Reply

