3 Books I Recommend

I’ve come across some really good books lately so I thought I’d share my 3 favourite.

They’re pretty varied but here goes.

To Die For: Is Fashion Wearing Out The World? – Lucy Siegle.
Lucy is one of Britain’s leading journalists on social and environmental justice. This book is about fast fashion and it’s impact on labour rights and the workers in developing countries. She looks at how to gain sustainable, quality products without having to compromise on the lives of the workers. It’s a real eye-opener and as someone who is disgusted by the amount in my wardrobe, makes me really think about what I’m purchasing, who made all the effort and who profits (here’s a hint: it’s not the women who sews day and night hunched over a ratty machine to add sequins to a top that you then purchase for $15.00). I haven’t even finished this book yet but it’s already a favourite.

Callgirl: Confessions of  Double Life – Jeannette Angell.
True account of Jeanette’s life as a callgirl. Not what you would expect as majority of the time you expect some sort of fall from grace for someone to become a callgirl. The story is in depth, offers new perspectives into prostitution and actually makes you question the profession as a whole.

Eleven – Mark Watson
A story about 11 lives not necessarily intersecting but a simple action by one person having a snow-ball effect on the others in the story. Really interesting, especially as you try to guess how people are connected and why they’re connected.

What books have you read lately that you’ve just loved?

 

 

all books can be purchased at Amazon.

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 3 Books I Recommend

  1. I wanted to read Call girl a while back, sort of forgot about it. Thanks for posting this, its getting moved up on my book list!

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      It’s really quite good. What I really liked about it was it was just written. It didn’t seem to try to sensationalize any of it or make it more dramatic than it is. There is also the second part, called Madam which is from Peach’s point of view about running the agency which wasn’t nearly as good but worth the read as it’s quite a small book.

  2. Ingrid says:

    I haven’t read any of these but I am intrigued by Eleven. I just finished the Help and I loved it. I am now reading the coffee shop of Kabul and it is amazing. x

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      I’m dying to read The Help. I want to read it before i see the movie. Another one i heard is really good is Kris Jenner’s book (mum to the Kardashian’s). Eleven is good. It’s different to the sorts of books i normally read.

Leave a Reply

