How I Know I’m Getting Old: 3 Trends I Just Don’t Get

I’m getting old. It’s ok. I mean I’m only 25 so not a big deal but I’ve noticed lately that there are more and more things I don’t get.

Crop Tops and Short Shorts.

What Others See

Why would you want to look like a little girl? I don’t get this trend, especially when it’s combined with a really high, 80’s styled pony tail and shoes with ankle or mid length socks on. How do people think this is a good look? The image on the left is what most people see, but when I look at girls dressed that way, I see the image on the right. I would guarantee that

What I See

the male population do not find the image on the right appealing. Unless of course they were a pedophile. Seriously, your look is attracting pedophiles. Why would you want to do that? To yourself? I just don’t get it!

Leggings as Pants:

Jessica Alba in Leggings. Why is this OK? Firstly she's a celebrity, so she can basically do anything she wants and secondly, she is covered. This is acceptable wearing of leggings

This is one of those debates that get vicious and people are so passionate about this topic. I fall on the leggings are not pants side. I don’t mind if they’re worn with a long top or dress or skirt over them but they should not be worn as pants. Firstly, VPL is not nice. No one wants to see that. If you’re going to do it (and please please please seriously think about it first), go sans underwear. Yes, shocking but if you’re ok with wearing leggings as pants then you going sans underwear probably isn’t that big of a deal to you.  This look should not be done, unless you are a celebrity. As much as I love the statement of

This is an unacceptable use of leggings. Who wants to see a camel toe and all your wobbly bits?? Do you not look in the mirror before you leave the house? Gross!

everybody should be happy with their body, the truth is that some styles and trends do not suit every single body shape. If you’re stick thin, have no curves and are a size 8, you can probably get away with leggings as pants, but chances are, you’ll be part of the 99.99% of the population where this does not look good on you. And that’s perfectly ok. And to those who say they are so comfy, so are track pants and jeans. There’s no excuse for them!

The Heel-Less Heels (HLH)

Finsk Heel less Heels. Seriously Ugly!

I love shoes. I really do. At last count I had 45 pairs in boxes and probably about 40 more floating around my room/car/boyfriend’s place. But I don’t get these backwards shoes. Seriously I mean they

Marc Jacobs Heel less Heels

aren’t even aesthetically pleasing. I get that I won’t love everything I ever see but

these are just plain ugly. What I love about heels is the fact that they have an actual heel. I love the stick thin, sky high weapon at the base of your foot.  I love that I can on occasion walk in them and be so comfortable. I love that they look amazing and sexy. I just don’t see how some big thing sticking out the bottom of your foot is appealing. Mostly I don’t think I could possibly feel safe in HLH

I’m not alone in not getting what is apparently my generations fashion. I think older generations are much better at choosing what is practical, fashionable and most of all suits their bodies. As Vivian Westwood states, generation x and y have been trained to consume and follow trends, rather than develop their own sense of style. And it’s true. I regularly see hoards of kids hanging at Melbourne Central or Flinders Street Station, all looking exactly alike (usually in the crop top and shorts). While I get that teenagers generally hang out in groups and they all tend to follow each other, I don’t remember my group doing that, or anyone for that matter. Sure there were certain trends we all followed but we never all went out looking exactly the same. There was always some individuality involved.

What fashion trend do you not get?

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Fashion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How I Know I’m Getting Old: 3 Trends I Just Don’t Get

  1. fulltimegangsta says:

    Omg this is amazing. I have been bitching for the last 3 months about those stupid shorts. So not hot.

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      I know, they are so gross!. I don’t mind short shorts but when i can see your butt cheeks, they aren’t shorts anymore!

      • fulltimegangsta says:

        I don’t get it. Seems to be the trend to have your pockets hanging out the front and your ass hanging out the back. They make me wanna hurt people every time I see them. wtf.

  2. I agree completely with you, and I have often had conversations with my friends about points 2 and 3, especially!

    I love leggings in winter but ONLY with long tops/dresses. And maybe a cute pair of boots. 🙂
    And I don’t think girls should wear jeggings with short tops either. :p

  3. zoekatarina says:

    That picture of the little girl in the aerobics shorts is effing hilarious. SO TRUE

  4. Pingback: How I Know I’m Getting Old: 4 Random Things | xxxmissvxxx

Leave a Reply

