Crampy :(

I hate cramps. So much so that I only allow myself to have my period when my body demands it i.e. when I’ve taken the pill for so long continuously that my body just decides that it’s just going to start doing it anyway. Which is always lame.

I’ve always had terrible cramps. So bad that it generally required me to take a couple of days off school because I was nauseous, vomiting and fainting. I could barely get out of bed it was so bad. I finally went on the pill and it helped but cramps were still quite bad. To the point where at 17, I ran out of my english class one day, only to have my young male teacher come after me, hear me vomit into the toilet and when I didn’t come out 10 minutes later, follow me in to find me slumped against the wall in so much pain, and ask if I was pregnant and if I needed someone to talk to (bless him!). Must have been awkward for him but nice to know that he cared.

So that’s how bad my cramps get and so why I skip it so often. But it’s only recently that I’ve discovered that certain foods can definitely help with the cramp situation.

Fish: Have carry alot of Omega 3 fatty acids which means they have anti-inflammatory properties which minimalises pain. Eating a higher quantity during your cycle will help reduce the pain.

Fruits and Vegetables: Fruit and Veggies contain high levels of vitamins, minerals and essential nutrients. Eating leafy veggies like kale, cabbage and spinach are essential to alleviate pain as well as eating the skin off fruit.

Whole Grains: Don’t confused products with “enriched” with 100% whole grains as the “enriched” products are not made from actual whole grains.

Flax Seed: The production of prostaglandin in the body is one of the main factors causing menstrual cramps in women. Flax seed is great for reducing prostaglandin, which minimizes the intensity of menstrual cramps. Women are usually advised to consume between one and two tablespoons of flax seed during the menstrual cycle. You can sprinkle ground flax seed over your salad, morning cereal, a cup of yogurt or in a smoothie.

Basil: Drinking Basil Tea during the menstrual cycle has proved to be very effective in reducing menstrual pain and cramps. For best results, you need to drink one cup of basil tea every hour. You can also choose to sprinkle a small bit of cinnamon powder over your tea, so that its taste improves and has a better, more positive impact on your body. Many women find it difficult to consume basil tea, because of its taste. In that case you could add fresh basil leaves to your food.

Ginger: This is one of the most commonly used home remedies for reducing menstrual cramps and pain. The best part about ginger is that it can be used in several ways to deal with the excruciating pain. Most women prefer to drink ginger tea with some honey or lemon juice added to it. Drinking this tea at regular intervals throughout the day not only reduces the pain, but also helps get rid of other uncomfortable menstrual symptoms. You could increase the amount of ginger you use in your food, while cooking. Yet another way of having this remedy is by sucking on some candied ginger.

Nuts: Several types of nuts are high in magnesium, Vitamin E, calcium and other nutrients, which helps reduce menstrual cramps considerably.

Vitamin Supplements: Add a supplement containing Vitamin E, calcium, zinc, magnesium or thiamine to your diet, in order to reduce menstrual cramps and bloating.

Obviously things such as light exercise and heat can also help.

 

What do you do to help with cramps?

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

