Sunscreen

Sunscreen is a product that in Australia, is a must, however alot of people still don’t use it as part of their everyday routine.

Sunscreen seems to have exploded in the last few years, with so many products now containing SPF it’s hard to know whether you should be using your normal sunscreen as well as using products with SPF already in it. I mean, in theory, SPF15 + SPF 15 should equal SPF 30 but it doesn’t.

I remember hearing somewhere that mixing SPF’s can actually reduce the protection, and like I said, with so many products now containing SPF themselves, how do you know it’s too much or not enough?

Here’s my product list in the morning: Coconut Oil, Invisible Zinc SFP 30+, Primer SPF 30+, Mineral Foundation (not sure the SPF factor but mineral foundation generally carries some level of SPF, around 4 from memory), and translucent powder. So out of 5 products that I tend to use everyday, 3 of them already contain some sort of SPF level.

Despite using these products, I’m not going to kid myself into thinking that I have an SPF level of 60+ because that is just ridiculous. Surely mixing products together would dilute the overall effects, because essentially you’d be averaging out your SPF factor. So for the 3 products that I use:

30 + 30 + 4 = 64 divided by 3 = is 21.33.

So essentially that’s the SPF factor that I’m using.  SPF21.33.

I’ve tried to do a bit of research into it but I’ve found it surprisingly difficult to find something credible on the subject, as to whether mixing SPF products is actually a detriment.

But when it comes to sunscreen, that’s not all I’m concerned about. Lately I’ve been moving away from chemical products to more natural products, ranging from skin care to make up to hair products.

Giselle Bundchen in February 2011 angered health critics for calling sunscreen “poison” and potentially influences thousands of people to stop wearing sunscreen. Obviously her comment was quite naive to assume that all sunscreens contain chemicals that are dangerous, because it’s just not true. And for someone of her standing to say something like that is even more ridiculous.

However her comment did spark something in me. There has to be a cheap, alternative that is chemical free (or as chemical free as possible).

So finding a natural sunscreen is quite important to me. Of all the products I’ve looked into, I’ve only found one that actively advertises their ingredients on their website, and that is for UV Natural. Here’s an example

UV Natural SPF 30+ Sunscreen
broad spectrum
2 hours water resistant

A silky non-perfumed sunscreen with a unique blend of ingredients.

· zinc oxide 24.8%
· zinc stearate
· grape seed oil
· macadamia oil,
· natural vitamin E
· green tea extract
· grape seed extract
· colloidal silica
· iron oxide

No other site that I looked at had the same sort of approach.

Invisible Zinc lists the benefits of Zinc Oxide but doesn’t mention any other ingredients. Cancer Council also does not list ingredients on their website which makes me believe that there may be chemicals that although will not cause significant damage, can’t be natural.

My thinking behind natural products is that if I’m going to be using something basically everyday, for a large amount of time, I want something that will be natural and good for my skin. I don’t want my face covered in chemicals and preservatives if I can help it. So, after my Invisible Zinc runs out, I’m going to try the UV Natural.In saying that, Invisible Zinc has been a great sunscreen. It smooths on easily, doesn’t need alot (although it is recommended to use at least a teaspoon on your face), had no fragrance and doesn’t leave my face looking as white as some other sunscreens do.  My only issue with it is it’s ingredients but other than that, the product works well.

But back to UV Natural. Not only are they natural but they hold certain values that I agree with, they don’t test on animals, they are 100% vegan (not that I’m vegan or vegetarian for that matter), no preservatives and are the only brand of sunscreen recognised by Choose Cruelty Free. They also have a shelf life of about 3 years, however I would hope people are using it so constantly that the 3 years is never reached.

But the whole SPF mixing interests me, so I’m going to do more research into it and see exactly how it is affecting my skin protection.

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunscreen

  1. Ingrid says:

    SPF is so important but like you say, it’s hard to find information out there. I use either L’Oreal UV Perfect or Invisible Zinc each morning (both 30+) and I also have an IZ foundation with 30+ and a delicious Hissyfit bodylotion with 30+. Protection is so important and I’d rather be pale and fabulous than tan and at risk…X

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      me too! but there are those days where I don’t put it all over and then end up being in the sun all day. My chest has that perfect round neck tan on it from my tshirts and my right arm is darker than my left because of driving!

Leave a Reply

