My Dream Wedding (that I don’t really want to have)

I don’t want to get married but I know deep down, eventually it’ll happen. Honestly I don’t believe the promise to commit to another person needs to be defined by marriage but then again I’m not totally adverse to it. I just don’t think it’s required by every single couple.

Having said that, I do sometimes imagine my wedding. About every little detail. So here is a list of stuff that I’ve already decided on, that future husband has no say on because really, weddings are about the bride!

Where the ceremony will be: I’ve always preferred going to outdoor weddings so I’d love to be married at Ripponlea Gardens in Melbourne. I went to a wedding there last March and it was beautiful. It was over looking the lake and what was really nice about it was that there were so many people who were at the gardens on a picnic or whatnot who after the ceremony, came up to the bride and groom and congratulated them. It was a perfect day, beautiful setting and really elegant too.

Ripponlea Gardens: Lake View

The Reception: I’m not sure why but I love the Langham hotel. I’ve never been there, or stayed there but I have heard beautiful things about it as a venue. Check out all the info they have on weddings here! (photo below – the Langham is the second on the left)

Langham Hotel

Where I’d stay that night: I love the Sofitel on Collins Street. It’s beautiful. Every time I’ve stayed there I’ve gotten closer and closer to the top but I’d stay in a suite.  Click here to view the suites!

The dress: Well, I’m quite a simple gal so I don’t really love the poofy wedding dresses that have layer upon layer upon layer of fabric. I much prefer simple styles, but having said that, there is one that I’m loving from Vera Wang. I love the back of it. You can find it below.

Vera Wang: Isn't the back gorgeous?

Alex Perry: He has some beautiful simple gowns

Forever New: Who knew they did "couture" wedding dresses? Or even just wedding dresses

The Shoes: This will be my most favourite bit of the whole thing. The shoes. Christian Louboutins without fail. I don’t care if I can’t walk for a month afterwards. I will get my Louboutins.

Christian Louboutin: Eugenie Satan White

Christian Louboutin: Feticha White Python

Bridesmaids: I’d have to pick my sister as my maid of honour for sure. My best friend E would just get drunk and embarrass me so she’s out, another friend A, who I haven’t spoken to in a long time is also out because she has been a mole lately, L1 gets too stressed and doesn’t like being centre of attention and L2, whilst I love her, is difficult and negative. They’re the only people I’d consider but I’d happily only have my sister and that’s it. As for what they’d wear, probably a black dress from Lisa Ho or Alannah Hill.

First Song: Without a doubt, it would have to be One Crowded Hour by Augie March, followed by Touched by Love by Eran James.

Food: This would be my most favourite bit! I’d definitely have salmon of some sort as the entree. For the main I’ve have lamb shanks because I had the most delicious lamb shanks at a wedding a couple of years back, and then probably lamb. For desert, well, creme brulee of course, as it’s my favourite and probably a cheesecake of some sort.

 

Cake: My cake would be cupcakes, and probably red velvet. Yum. Now I want a cupcake! It would look similar to the tower below, but obviously with some red in there. Or maybe not, the black and white looks quite nice.

Cupcake Tower

The Guests: I’d love to have a small wedding, with about 50 people but of course, this always gets overrun by family who want to invite every single person who has ever met their precious son/daughter and suddenly you’re accommodating for people you’ve never met, partners of cousins you haven’t seen in years and any other person who may or may not have had a significant impact on your or your family’s life. This is also impractical as if I were to marry my current partner, his family has 7, their closest family friends whom I know every well have 15 and that’s already 23 people with just two families.  I would however say no to children. You’ll just have to get a babysitter for the day/night.

So that’s all I’ve really thought about. But you know, they’re the most important aspects anyway.

Have you thought about your dream wedding?

 

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Dream Wedding (that I don’t really want to have)

  1. zoekatarina says:

    Ha, i agree with your stance on weddings in general i think. Well i’m totally stealing your Ripponlea gardens idea 😉 doesn’t your groom get to choose one of the songs at least!?
    I think bridesmaids always creates probs, but you’re right in its better to go simple with one than try to please all & end up with a harem.
    The only thing I’ve ever really contemplated about that day, should it ever come, is that I shall NOT have a long white strapless wedding dress..

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      pfft! If its my current boy then no, he doesn’t get to choose because he doesn’t care about music as much as i do!
      And yes that’s what i figure with bridesmaids anyway, easier to make it someone you know will do good than not be sure and regret it later in life!

  2. Madeupmaiden says:

    Oh, I love how much thought you’ve put into this and I especially agree with the Sofitel, the gowns, the Louboutins and the menu!

    PS, Creme Brulee is my favourite dessert too, and I think we should make it a mission to find the best place in Melbourne!

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      Yes! We can start on Sunday for the perfect Creme Brulee search!
      I find it funny that I know so much of what I want, yet I don’t really actually want to get married!

  3. Ingrid says:

    This is really cool, so many great ideas. I haven’t even thought of having a wedding so wouldn’t know where to start but I do know I would have my little sister and my best friend in the bridal party.

    The Langham is an outstanding hotel and one of only four Australian hotels in the Leading Hotels of the world group. Christian Louboutins are a definite must and I can’t say no to cupcakes ever xx

Leave a Reply

