My Experience: Microdermabrasion

Last week I made a flurry of phone calls when I realised that all those vouchers/coupons that I had purchased last year were about to expire.

I had bought one for two microdermabrasions and a shellac polish. I had the  first micro done yesterday and here is my experience of it.

I purchased the voucher for Peace on Earth Spa and Beauty. Initial contact was not good. I called 3 weeks ago, was told that someone would call me back within 48 hours (which is kinda weird but I went with it) only to not have anyone call at all. I gave it a week and called back to be told that the entire computer system had crashed and they couldn’t contact any of their clients. This got me thinking as what sort of business doesn’t back up their data at the end of every night? I finally booked it in but had to send a copy of my voucher to the company due to said crashing of the computer.

Microdermabrasion according to the Peace on Earth Spa and Beauty website is: Diamond Head Microdermabrasion removes damaged dead skin, using a diamond-tipped wand. The process is painless & relaxing, similar to a regular facial. This treatment can reduce fine lines, wrinkles, open pores, age spots, stretch marks & acne scars. (6 treatments recommended).

The voucher also states that the second appointment should be at the skin therapists discretion however the receptionist booked me in for the following week before I’d even had my first appointment.

As someone who has had around 20 micros done in the last 5 years, this is not good procedure. You need to base it on each person’s skin and it’s needs. But I let it go because I knew that when you haven’t had them done for a long stretch of time, your first and second treatments are generally done within 2 weeks of each other.

I arrived at the appointment 10 minutes early but was kept waiting for 15 minutes in addition to the 10 min wait. The therapist takes me into the room, puts down the towel, tells me to undress and get under the covers. Then leaves. As someone who has had micro done before, I know you leave your underwear and bra on, but tuck the straps under your arms (or off as the towel covers) and this is done so you don’t get product on your decolletage as well as because you get massaged as well. The therapist really should explain the procedure because if you’d never had it done before, you’d be thinking wtf! And no one had asked me if I’ve had the procedure done before.

So she came back in and started removing my make up and cleansed and toned before starting the machine. It was all quite relaxing however the machine is loud and it’s hard to ignore but it’s the same with every machine really. There wasn’t any time spent in a consult as to what problems I had with my skin or any concerns which I thought was quite unprofessional. The whole process only took about 45minutes, and I found it odd because I’ve never had my neck done and it was the oddest sensation.

The procedure finished and the therapist said it was done, and then left the room. I was confused as I didn’t know whether she was finished or coming back or what, so after about a minute I got up and got dressed and went to the reception area as I had a few questions. The lady behind the desk had no idea where the therapist was and couldn’t answer my questions which again, unprofessional. I understand that she may not have an in depth knowledge of everything but she should have had some idea. So I doubled checked my appointment for next week and left.

I didn’t like it.

Not one bit. There was no consultation, no explanation of procedures, no time to ask any questions or address any concerns, I wasn’t given an after care guide or explanation of the dos and don’ts, the therapist disappeared after my session, the receptionist had no idea and I’m fairly sure my forehead is bruised, which should not have happened, especailly as the machine seemed to be on a lower setting than what I usually get as I didn’t have the redness straight after the micro that I usually have.

Once my appointment is over next week, I’ll be doing micros at proper skin clinics as opposed to beauty salons. The skin clinics are much more concerned with your skin type and finding the right procedure for you, as well as making sure you have time to talk about your skin and it’s problems and what you want to get out of the procedure. They also tend to talk to you alot about what is happening as well as explaining how the procedure works to help your skin, which I find really informative. They’ve also always given me information in terms of how to look after my skin for the 48 hours following the procedure which is generally tailored to how your skin has reacted immediately after and have provided samples of after care products to use.

When it comes to my skin, I prefer a much more professional approach and I want to feel that my skin therapist is educating me on what is happening and I just didn’t get that from my appointment yesterday.

I hope next week goes better as I’m also having my nails done.

I’m also not sure whether not paying full price has anything to do with the sort of service you get. I have found in a few places that when I’m not paying full price for whatever reason, something either goes wrong, or isn’t how it should be. But if that’s the case, then it’s completely stupid of the company to not treat your clients the same no matter what. The service is the reason I have chosen to not go back there, not because of the procedure itself or the price. They obviously choose to expose their company like this to generate more business but who knows.

Do you prefer a relaxed, go with the flow approach or a more professional approach?

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Product Review, Random Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Experience: Microdermabrasion

  1. I think a professional approach is important when your dealing with machines and peoples skin!!! Otherwise you’ll end up on Today Tonight showing off your burnt face from a dodgy salon.

  2. zoekatarina says:

    Unless you’re a repeat customer and know your therapist well, whomever is doing your treatment has got to be way more thorough in preparation & information than this! Imagine if you’d decided to try micro for the first time cos you’d seen the voucher? How very rubbish. The only time I’ve had a cut price treatment was with a trainee waxer so god knows I was prepared for the worst (it was the worst). I reckon your status as voucher-payer had sthing to do with it for sure.

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      Definitely. It was incredibly unprofessional and despite having other experiences that have been really good, I don’t think I’m being unrealistic in expecting a similar experience.
      And surely a voucher could turn into a potential customer so why wouldn’t you make the experience even better?

  3. Ingrid says:

    It sounds like awful service and not relaxing at all. First of all they have a duty of care to find out how your skin might react and they clearly don’t realise that if they are offering good service now you could have become a repeat customer. That train has passed now unless they redeem themselves next week. Let us know how you go and thank you for sharing your experience xx

  4. Madeupmaiden says:

    That sounds so terribly unprofessional. 😦 I like buying vouchers because a) I get to try a new experience and b) I get to assess a new salon to become a regular customer.

    If I don’t get treated well, however, I’m not going back. It’s silly when salons don’t give you proper treatment, regardless of if you were a regular or a newbie, because who knows, you could be an úndercover’ reviewer!

    Bad show all around, I reckon. Can you get a refund on your remaining visit?

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      Nope, can’t get a refund because it was one of those get this for $99 deals. I”m going to go back for the last appointment because the procedure itself was fine, it was what was happening before/during/after that was the problem.

  5. jenny says:

    Ouch girl…I hear ya. I love your blog by the wa…Here is a list of my musts and must dos for the at home fine tuning of the skin. I have the http://www.riiviva.com at home microdermabrasion tool. It’s magnificent. It also saves me $250 per session. I do the plum and onion recipe for my acne. I know it sounds different but a girl can never have too many ideas. I do the tooth paste dab for any pimples and of course the cool yogurt facial.

    Yey, you have a new follower now. Thanks girl and keep it coming. GirlPower

  6. Dee says:

    Hi Ladies, I find this blog and comments very hard to believe when I came across it. I’m a regular at Peace on Earth Spa and Beauty for the past 2 years. I find it very hard to believe that they are unprofessional as all the therapist I had over the years are and have been fantastic. The lady at front desk who is there most of the time is a fantastic person and she very fails to remember her clients, names or what they are booked in for. I felt the need that i had to post this as your bad experience and judgement should cloud others. Also as a regular customer, you would have had to fill up a client consultation form. Wouldn’t they have known your history with micro’s with that? No offence to you, you are entitled to your opinions but I can’t help but state mine as well.

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      Hi Dee,
      Appreciate your response, that was just the account of my experience. I didn’t have a consult, didn’t fill out any patient forms that had anything more than name, address, phone number etc so I find that incredibly unprofessional. I appreciate it might have been a one-off but as a first time customer, that turned me off going back there and I didn’t end up going to my follow up. It was a culmination of things that put me off. If it was only one issue that would have been fine but as someone who works in customer service, I know what I expect of the service I give, and I expect those around me to do the same.

  7. Dee says:

    Wow, this just doesn’t seem like the same place I am talking about. I know the manager well now as I have been such a client now for years and I know that no massage or facial can be done with out a client consultation form filled out. I will be letting management know about this as I know she treats all her clients and staff very well, and if staff have treated you this way she would defiantly do something about it.

Leave a Reply

