Stuck In the Middle

Two friends of mine had been dating for a couple of years and the male friend, decided for his own reasons late last year that he no longer wanted to be a part of it and has broken up with my friend.

She was devestated to say the least.

She is a friend that I made at a school I went to for a term, the only one that I’ve kept in contact with. He is a family friend of my partner’s and will most likely be a part of my life as long as I’m with my partner. So it’s awkward.

I know both sides of the story and I think he acted in the best, most respectable way he could have considering the circumstances. I’ve been hanging out with both of them separately of course, and it’s been fine with im but honestly I’m quite disappointed in how she’s behaving.

Here’s the thing. I feel she’s putting me in the middle of the situation. She’s bagging him out, saying horrible things about him sexually and just being a bitch about the whole thing. Don’t get me wrong. I know she is hurting and hurting bad. And still is hurting. I’m sure it’s only natural to want to react this way. But she knows how close I am to him so I find it unfair that she would lash out to me. She has other friends who aren’t friends with him to do that sort of stuff to.

It’s put me in an uncomfortable position because she’s constantly calling to find out if I’m hanging out with him (lucky for me, I’ve never been good at answering my phone as it lives on silent) or spoken to him.

Honestly I am happy to hang out with her whilst she’s hurting but I don’t think I can if she keeps behaving this way. Most people say that I should take her side but I don’t want to take sides and frankly if I had to choose, I’d choose him at the moment because he’s not making me feel as if I’m forced to choose. I don’t know how I got in the middle of it and my partner didn’t!

They’ve been broken up for 6 months and whilst it takes people different lengths of time to get over a break up, I don’t think she’s even moved on in the slightest.

I hope she does, because honestly, I’m sick of it.

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stuck In the Middle

  1. Ingrid says:

    How difficult! Being in the middle is never easy, I hope you can work it out. I’m sure you may have told her, but perhaps let her know how difficult this is for you and that she should stop talking about it when you are together?

    PS – My phone lives on silent too. I love it X

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      It is so frustrating and I have told her so many times again that I’ve just gotten to the point where I just say “don’t want to hear it.” I know it sounds terrible but it’s been 6 months already. It’s time for her to grow up.

      I love that you keep your phone on silent too! It’s the best!

  2. Madeupmaiden says:

    My phone is on silent a lot, too, but I try to check it often just in case of an emergency!

    It sounds rather terrible to be put in the middle like that…particularly after 6 months! Perhaps you might need to take a step back for the sake of the friendship. 😦

    Hope you get things sorted soon! xx

Leave a Reply

