Coconut Oil: Hair Mask

A while back I purchased some coconut oil and have been using it as a moisturiser since then. I love it and the smell it provides and has made my skin feel softer, smoother and more hydrated.

I’d been thinking for awhile to do a hair mask because I’m terrible at looking after my hair and figure, I’ve got some coconut oil, may as well use it.

So I jumped online and found the most common and easy way to make a mask was to mix some coconut oil with honey.

Appealing huh?

To get the mixture, I put 3 tablespoons of coconut oil into a bowl and microwaved it for about 20 seconds. For those of you playing at home, coconut oil comes out as a solid when kept at room temperature, so it needs to be heated to become a liquid. Once it’s cooled, it stays liquid form unless you cool it further to make it a solid again. Once I had my liquid oil, I added a tablespoon of honey (I used organic honey because that’s all we have at home but any honey works). It makes it a little stickier but you can use the mask with or without honey.

Next step is to put it in your hair. You can use your hands or a brush. I went for the brush option. I used one of those basting brushes you use to cook with and purchased mine from Woolies for about $4.00.

Basting Brush. Image taken from: http://www.darrowart.com/workshop/materials.html

Make sure if you use a basting brush that you get a fairly large one. Then I separated my hair into sections and started “basting” so to speak!

Oil will get all over your neck, leaving it nice and moisturised.

I worked through the sections and used old hair ties that I was going to throw out straight after as they get really oily. Finally I had covered my entire hair and it only took about 10 minutes and I used basically the entire mask.

How gross does my hair look???

After that I glad-wrapped the shit out of my hair. I have no idea how many metres I used but I tell you, mama was not happy when she realised I used most of it just to cover my hair! Whoops. You can also use an old towel but you’d probably be stuck with oily residue forever. It’s important to wrap you hair in something to hold the heat in so the oil and honey can really penetrate into your hair.

Finally I decided that I was going to leave it in overnight so I put my brand new Target bought shower cap on (purchased for about $4.00) and voila! My mask was all done.

The next morning I woke up and found oil residue on my pillow case (which has since washed out fine but still)  which had seeped out from the back of my neck area so next time I do it I will be using an old pillow case. It won’t happen for everyone but I move alot in my sleep so obviously the glad-wrap and shower cap moved with me.

I jumped in the shower and washed my hair twice to make sure it was all out and dried my hair and whilst I noticed a difference, it wasn’t huge. I guess I’ll need to do it more often to really get an effect but it was alot of effort and uncomfortable to sleep in so I may do it during the day next time and wash it off before going to bed.

As far as costs go, the whole thing would have cost about $12.00 considering I already had the oil and honey and next time I do it, it won’t cost anything as I already have everything at home.

My hair did smell delicious for the rest of the day so that was another bonus.

Are you big on hair masks? What do you use?

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Coconut Oil: Hair Mask

  1. Wow, that was a process! I just soak my hair in oil and do my homework ^^

  2. Ohhh your shower cap is so cute! 🙂

  3. Ingrid says:

    I think this is a gorgeous idea but a little high maintenance. I do occasionally apply glad-wrap to my treatments but I mainly just apply them in the shower and leave them on for a little while:)

    PS I love your shower cap!

  4. Sheri says:

    It’s not high maintenance, I do it once a week while I’m doing laundry…I just use a sower cap, it’s easier than Saran wrap. Wash it out after 1-2 hours. Another great idea I’ve tried is using molasses on dry hair. I microwave it for 30 sec or boil a small pot of hot water and let it sit in there for 5 min to make it thinner. Now this is way messier than the coconut oil. I applied it by hand and you have to do it in sections. If you have long hair you have to watch that you don’t get it any on the walls. Wait 20 mins then rinse out with hot water (as hot as you can tolerate; the hotter the water the quicker it will melt out of your hair)

Leave a Reply

