Anzac Day: Lest we Forget

ANZAC Day was yesterday. As someone who wasn’t born in this country, Anzac Day doesn’t have the same level of significance to me as it does to others. Actually, maybe it does have the same level, just a different kind of significance to me.

I don’t know alot about Australian history but I do know this: I’m entitled to certain freedoms because of what has happened in our past, and although my family and I have never been directly affected by Australia’s past, it doesn’t mean it hasn’t had an impact on us.

Although Anzac Day is to remember those who fought in wars, I personally think of it as a time to pay respects to all of those around us who show pride and respect to our country. Who will go out of their way to help those around them, who want to improve it beyond belief because they love it so much. It’s a day like ANZAC Day that makes me remember not just veterans of this country, but remember those who lost their lives in natural disasters or any other situation simply for just trying to help someone else. It’s also a time where I am proud to be Australian, because as a whole, we are a kind, generous country that has been proven over and over again with the Victorian bush fires and Queensland floods and disasters around the world.

These are two songs that really make me think what it is to be an Australian.

The first one is called “I was only 19” and was originally done by Red Gum, however I love The Herd and so have chosen to use their version. This song is about the Vietnam War.

The second is a song called “My Country” by Illy, who is an Australia Hip Hop artist. Illy wrote this song after the 2009 Victorian Bush fires but it has been received as a social commentary as well.

I hope you all had an amazing ANZAC Day and honoured in your own way.

What does Anzac Day mean for you?

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Anzac Day: Lest we Forget

  1. zoekatarina says:

    This is such a brilliant post Val xxoo
    You put into words a lot of what is only nebulous associations in my head – I never thought about it from the macro to the micro: We *are* a kind & generous country. It’s because of our collected individual creeds that we are benevolent and tolerant.

  2. Madeupmaiden says:

    Wonderful post and so very accurate. It’s easy to take for granted sometimes!

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      It really is easy to take things for granted, and that’s why it makes me angry when I hear people make it all political for whatever reason. There are so many other days of the year that would be more appropriate to bring that stuff up.

Leave a Reply

