Revlon Colour Burst Lip Butters: A Review

A couple of weeks back, Revlon bought out a new range of lip products Revlon Colo(u)r Burst Lip Butters in Australia. They’ve been out since December in the States. I purchased two colours and here’s what I think of them.

Priceline had a special for Revlon products; if you purchased either a lip or nail product, you got a second for free. Of course the majority of people I saw at my local Priceline scampered towards the Lip Butters and bought two for the price of one. Frankly I was glad of the sale because at $21.95, I found them a little steep. And I would not have bought them for that each.

I purchased two colours, Creme Brulee (no. 95) and Fig Jam (no. 30). I found it really hard choosing colours as the lip butters are a cross between a gloss and a lipstick, so the colour doesn’t appear as strongly as a pure lipstick on your hand/arm when you’re trying to check them. I ended up just grabbing these two figuring that it would be impossible to accurately choose good colours but I ended up fairly happy with the two colours.

Here’s what I like about them:
They’re quite subtle, therefore application doesn’t have to be perfect and the Creme Brulee is the perfect nude colour for me. Fig Jam is just the right amount of colour that I like. I’m not a big lipstick fan (although my collection would say otherwise) so these are perfect for me who is slowly but surely heading into the everyday wearing, lipstick territory. They’re also vanilla scented which isn’t too strong and is actually quite pleasant.

What I don’t like about them:
They’re $21.95 each, whereas in the States, they retail for about $7.95.  Due to the sheerness of the colours, it’s important to ensure that you’re lips are smooth, if you have chapped lips, it’s really brings that out. They also don’t have an SPF factor. I don’t like the way they feel on my lips when I put them on with no lip balm underneath. It’s not as moisturising as I would like considering it’s a butter. I don’t feel that my lips are more or less moisturised, in fact I would say mine feel less moisturisered because they do feel dry with the product if I don’t already have lip balm on underneath. The other issue with this is that if you do put lip balm on first, the colour is even more sheer because it’s harder for it to hold.

On a whole, I won’t be buying any other shades. Whilst I think they’re a good product if you want to dip your toe into wearing darker/more coloured shades, I don’t think they’re as good as they’re being made out to be. Just shows what good marketing and a few rave reviews can do for a product!

Do you like/love/hate the Revlon Lip Butters?

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Product Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Revlon Colour Burst Lip Butters: A Review

  1. i think these are possibly the most overhyped products of 2012, heh. it’s not very hydrating, isn’t it?

  2. yablogtherapy says:

    Yes! How ridiculous is it that they’re $21.95 in Australia? Especially since our dollar is on par. I love them though.

  3. Madeupmaiden says:

    I have five different shades and love them all. However, I do think that the consistency and ‘moisturisation’ of each shade does differ across the range, so that could be a factor! I plan on doing a review soon so stay tuned. 🙂

  4. Ingrid says:

    I really like my lip butters. The ease of application seals the deal. Creme Brulee is gorgeous and neutral:) They are too expensive compared with the US though so I am glad they had the special offer. I don’t think they will sell so well at the normal RRP.

  5. Pingback: Product Review: Face Of Australia Lip Crayons | xxxmissvxxx

Leave a Reply

