OPI Shatter – Navy Review

In yesterday’s post I mentioned that I had purchased some shatter nail polish from OPI. I hadn’t tried them before but had heard rave reviews regarding them. I used the navy last night over Zoya’s Vanessa and this was the effect (The photos are really dark, there was a power out last night so all I had was the light from my TV).

image

image

image

image

I was actually a bit shocked with the colour when I first put it on. The bottle looks like it will be purple but it’s actually navy. In all fairness it is stated on the bottom of the polish that it is navy but I didn’t think to look under there. The polish is strange. It’s not smooth but it’s not gluggy either. To me, it feels a bit like paste when it’s been watered down. As the brush is thinner than I’m used to (I’m used to Rimmel brushes which are thick), I had to do more strokes, and sometimes if you go over a section you’ve already done, it will take the product off, leaving a blank strip with not alot of shatter cover and that means you have to go over it again. Maybe it’s the brand of polish I used below, but the label does state it can go over any nail colour, and therefore it should work regardless of whether you are using OPI, Rimmel, Revlon etc.

The shatter effect is quite cool however I’m not loving it. It just looks like my nails are dirty, or that I had painted them, didn’t wait for them to dry and started doing stuff that would smudge them. I’m hoping the silver and white will give a nicer effect than the navy. Although yesterday when I tried the navy over a nude colour, it looked really good. I guess I was hoping that would translate with a stronger colour underneath.

It’s still quite fun and a good way to give a boring outfit a bit of a lift when it needs it. And another bonus is that if you have chips and things like that, or application isn’t perfect, it doesn’t really matter because you don’t really notice the imperfections when looking at the shatter effect.

Overall I give them a 3 out of 5 at this stage. I’m just glad I didn’t pay full price for them because spending $60 on 3 products that I don’t love is a bit much, especially on nail polish when I’m quite happy with $5 – $10 polishes.

Have you tried the OPI Shatters? What do you think of them?

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Product Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to OPI Shatter – Navy Review

  1. zoekatarina says:

    Ha look at your tiny nails!! They are so cute.
    I’ve heard heaps about these polishes too – good to know perfect application isn’t necessary as I am hopeless (espesh on my right hand!). But are u saying they retail for twenty bucks each?

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      Shush about my tiny nails! That is exactly what I’m telling you. They are $19.95 each at most places. $10 was fine but I wouldn’t spend that much on nail polish, not when I can get 4 Rimmel ones for that price!!

      btw I saw a letter go out for you a couple weeks back.. about your pass?? haha

  2. Jasmine says:

    Where did you get the nail polish from, if you don’t mind me asking? Because all of the O.P.I nail polishes I own have far larger brushes than Rimmel (I also love them!)
    The price is pretty ridiculous though!
    🙂

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      I bought them at Priceline which if you don’t know is like a pharmacy but most of them don’t have the prescription section. They were on sale. I find OPI too expensive for what they are!

      • Jasmine says:

        I come from Australia too so I know Priceline 🙂
        That’s so weird because it almost sounds as if it’s a fake! But I doubt Priceline would sell fakes… at least I hope not! Maybe O.P.I dropped the ball on that one!
        I agree though, I will never ever pay full price! $20 for one bottle is just insane!!!

  3. Ingrid says:

    I like the look of shatter but I won’t do it myself, I just prefer a sparkly topcoat or just the colour itself. Great bargain though X

Leave a Reply

