Product Review: Garnier BB Cream

In the last 3 or so months, the rage has been all about BB Creams. Fresh from Asia, the cream has been selling like hot cakes and eventually flew all the way over to Australia and the hype, whilst not as extreme, gives me cause to want to try it.

I’m a bit pov lately and despite all the numerous brands of BB Creams out there, I opted for the cheapest one I could find; from Garnier for $13.99. Brands such as Nude by Nature, L’Oreal and Missha all have their own versions, ranging from $24.95 to $50+.

Garnier BB Cream in Medium, $13.99 from Priceline

Garnier’s BB Cream is a 5 – 1 Miracle Cream, according to the website. Garnier claims that their BB Cream hydrates for 24 hours, evens skin tone, corrects blemishes, boosts a healthy glow and offers UV protection of 15+. It comes in two shades, light and medium.

The Priceline I went to only had the medium so that’s what I purchased. I was anxious to try it but was worried that the hype would be just that, hype. I’d been excited by a product before, the Clarisonic and although it’s a good one, I wasn’t experiencing the “OMG this is brilliant!” that others seemed to feel. So I was hesitant.

image

This is what it looks like. Thick and creamy.

I followed my normal routine in the morning, coconut oil, sunscreen, primer and then put on the BB Cream. It was interesting. It’s thicker than a tinted foundation and because of that, provides much more coverage but not as thick as a medium-heavy coverage liquid foundation. The BB Cream does feel as if your skin is being moisturised which is great because the reason I hate liquid foundation is because most of them feel thick and heavy on my skin, as if it can’t breathe.I did however set it with Finishing Veil by Nude by Nature as well.

It did cover blemishes and evened out my skin tone, much more than the Face of Australia tinted moisturiser that I use on good days. I quite like the smell of it, it’s not a strong unpleasant smell which is always helpful.

I quite liked it as a product. Since my skin is shit I wouldn’t use it everyday because I like the coverage my Nude by Nature Mineral Foundation provides but I will probably replace the Face of Australia tinted moisturiser with the BB Cream once they run out. One issue is that I’d probably have to also purchase the light colour as the medium is slightly to dark but I think the light would be too light and I’d have to mix them like I do with most foundations/tinted moisturisers.

Here are my pros. Its cover is good enough for when you are having a better than normal skin day. It works with your skin colour to provide a good, natural cover. Its cheap anf comes in two shades.

Here are my cons. If i dont set it with powder, it wont last long. The area around your mouth fades really quickly, which to be far most products do and it bugs me that there are only two shades and not more.

Having said all that, I really do like it. For $13.99 you really can’t go wrong. It lasted my whole work day (with the finishing veil on) , so from 7.45 am to 6.00 pm when I got home without rubbing off as much as other products seem to. Its worth a try even to just see whether its a product for you!

Have you tried BB Creams? What do you think of them?

 

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Product Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Product Review: Garnier BB Cream

  1. Ingrid says:

    I really liked the BB cream initially (Garnier as well), but then I noticed it started to make my face look very shiny and I haven’t been so in love ever since. I much prefer the tinted moisturiser from Australis X

Leave a Reply

