Fitness Trends to Try: Pole Dancing

Pole Dancing created a storm a few years ago when it was revealed that celebrities were taking pole dancing classes for fitness.

I jumped on the bandwagon and have been doing pole classes for two years now. It seems really hard the first time you walk in but you can catch on really quickly.

I first started pole dancing at Pole Divas and loved the environment immediately. All the instructors are amazing and really sweet and helpful. It can be daunting in your first class when you see all the advanced girls walking around in their tiny shorts/undies and sports bras but rather than being jealous, it gave me something to aspire to.

The first class basically involved getting used to sexy walks with attitude and moving around the pole. You learn a few simple spins and I guarantee you’ll be sore the next day. By the end of the 8 weeks, you will have attempted/mastered a few tricks such as crucifix, climbing the pole and being upside down.

Here’s a few things I learnt during my first 6 months doing pole.

Upside down Crucifix from the front

Upside down Crucifix from the side

Kitten Kicks

Triangle Slide

Layout

Back Straddle

After almost 18 months at Pole Divas I moved onto the Pole Dancing classes at my local gym as I wanted a more fitness based class than what was provided at Pole Divas (Pole Divas do offer extra classes which are strength and fitness classes for an additional cost but the course classes are more dance/trick based). The gym classes were also alot cheaper as I had a membership with the gym itself.

I really also enjoy these classes. Whilst there are no shoes and “costumes” in the class, the tricks we learn are more strength based which is what I was after. Like Pole Divas, the gym has levels such as beginner 1, beginner 2 and intermediates, but unlike Pole Divas, if you can’t do something then you don’t need to repeat a level. It’s very self paced and the classes are smaller so you do get a lot of one-on-one time.

Alot of different pole studios offer casual classes if you can’t commit to an 8 – 10 week course as well, which is great for trying it before committing. Most pole studios also offer birthday and hen’s packages which are really fun. I did one for my 24th Birthday and it was hilarious and quite a few of my friends started their own classes shortly after.

I do recommend giving it a go if you’re tired of your regular workout or if you would like something that changes from week to week. Sooner or later you may even be able to do all this stuff (I’m still waiting…)

Have you tried Pole Dancing? What do you think of it?

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Fitness, Health, Random Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fitness Trends to Try: Pole Dancing

  1. Peace Love and Glitter says:

    Yes I have! I did it for q couple months and was quite good at it! It made me really happy to see this post, I love that you’ve done it too! 🙂

  2. Ingrid says:

    I would LOVE to try this, I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. I worry I would get bruises though, I bruise so easily;) X

Leave a Reply

