Product Review: Skin Doctor’s Powerabrasion

As most people know, I hate my skin. If there was only one thing in the world that I could change about myself, it would be to have beautiful, youthful, flawless skin.

Not only am I blaming hormones and puberty (which I’m clearly not in now, at the age of 26!) but I’m also blaming those years between 4 and 13 when I was participating in gymnastics, calisthenics and dancing competitions, with layers and layers of gunky make up on my face, under bright heat lights and sweating! I’m sure that impacted on my skin.

I must say that my skin has improved through drinking lots of water and diet changes but it’s still not as good as I want it to be. I’ve also cut down on smoking (occasionally quitting for random lengths of time). I purchased the Clarisonic last December (also reviewed in March) and have been using that and it has definitely helped. I still get blemishes but they are nowhere near as bad as they used to be and I’ve switched to Sukin products which seem to be made for my skin.

But I’m still not super happy about it.

So I purchased this:

image

It’s the Skin Doctors Powerabrasion!

It’s basically an at home microdermasbrasion kit.

image

It comes with the device, as well as two sponge heads, microdermabrasion crystals and resurfacing cream.

I’ve kinda loved it so far. But, there’s not really any instructions which I found really strange.

This is how I use it.

Firstly I cleanse my face with either the exfoliant scrub or the cream cleanser by Sukin, then I tone with Witch Hazel Toner. Then I spray my face with Sukin Hydrating mist (wasn’t lying about all the Sukin products!!) and rub the crystals over my face. It does say on the pack to only put it on your forehead and cheeks but that’s only recommended and I assume it’s for the people who perhaps don’t have as bad skin. Then I turn the Powerabriasion on and gently rotate over my face for 5 minutes. I also wet the sponge because it seems to glide a bit easier and I didn’t want to risk scratching my face on the first use. I also found that the crystals do dry out in the 5 minutes so making the sponge wet seems to be a good idea.

image

I then washed my face with water to remove all the crystals, let it air dry then put on the resurfacing cream. And there it was. That sting that’s always associated with microdermabrasions. I’m going to take that as it’s working just like it would in a therapists salon. Kaarolina, my previous micro girl tells me that the first couple of times you get micro, the cream they then put on after it will sting and it’s because your skin is not used to the, not severity but I guess the roughness of the micro. But it does eventually fade and you won’t feel it again unless you have a long break.

image

So have I noticed any difference? Yeah, I have! The subtle marks left on my forehead and cheeks have started to disappear. My skin is smoother and softer. I need less product and less make up basically. My pores are also starting to get smaller and less noticeable. These things also happened when I first started using the Clarisonic but it seems to have gone even further with the Powerabrasion.

I will say this though: I wouldn’t recommend it without first having done a proper micro session at a reputable clinic. Most good clinics will insist on a consult before doing the micro so make sure yours insists on a consult first. Although it’s not an invasive at home procedure, there still could be issues if you haven’t had a skin therapist go through with you the side effects.  If in Melbourne, I’d recommence The Ashley Centre first and foremost. But also the Victorian Skin and Laser Clinic which are also really good.

So what do I rate it? 4 out of 5. Why? Here’s the negatives first. For one, it’s battery based, which is frustrating because unlike the Clarisonic, you can’t take it into the shower with you and you also can’t recharge it unless you put rechargeable batteries in it in the first place. My second issue is that the crystals and resurfacing cream are about $44 each. Which is quite expensive but it’s still not as expensive as an actual micro session every 6 weeks. The good thing is that you can purchase them separately which is great as even in the two weeks I’ve been using it, I’ve noticed I’m using more crystals than cream.

Positives? Saves me time and money. I actually don’t enjoy massages and the like so going to a micro, even though you get a facial etc with it wasn’t ever relaxing for me. I love that it’s small and compact and can be taken wherever. And the main point is that I love that it actually works!

Have you tried the Powerabrasion by Skin Doctors?

 

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Product Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Product Review: Skin Doctor’s Powerabrasion

  1. zoekatarina says:

    Awesome post Val, I love hearing about this stuff.
    I just went to the Ashley Centre page and am seriously considering my first microdermabrasion procedure! It sounds so freaky but pretty exciting.
    What the hell’s with the no instructions for the Powerabrasion? That’s a gross oversight on the part of Skin Doctor. Can you look it up on the net? For God sakes, they could have public liability problems coming out of their bum-bums (can you tell I am researching business insurance today? I’ve almost finished this small business course and I’m about to launch, eeee!)

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      I think Kaarolina is still at Ashley Centre. I haven’t seen her in years though but they are all really good there!
      Oh very exciting about your launch! How far off do you think you are?

  2. Glad to know there is something you can buy and do it at home for microbrasion. I had been using a “natural” scrub I found at Bath and Body Works, that seems nice. I also wanted to comment on diet interventions. Im doing my final Masters research on Nutrition for skin. There is a lot of research to support a no dairy ( because of hormones found in milk) and low glycemic diet. I am starting out this new “diet” to see how it works. It also is suppose to slow down the process of aging. 🙂

Leave a Reply

