Project 50 Pan – 5 down!

I’ve decided to take part in the Project 50 Pan, about 2 months after most people started it.

Project 50 Pan revolves around the idea that no new products will be purchased until you have thrown out 50 products. Generally this would mean that you’ve used it completely but I’m going to also include products that I’ve kept that I never have, or never will again use.

It sounds really hard at first but I’ve thrown out quite a few things lately and it’s nice to not have so much clutter with them.

My one rule is that if I run out of a product that I don’t already have a replacement for, I will purchase one anyway. This will be mostly for foundation, primer, eye primer, toner, moisturisers, cleansers and those sorts of products. It won’t be for eye shadows, lipsticks, eye liners, blushes etc.

Usually my philosophy on shopping is “ooh pretty!” and I buy it. That’s not really helpful when I’m trying to save for a loan and as hard as it has been this year, I have cut down on a lot of unnecessary shopping and I’m hoping this will make me think twice as well.

I have tried to also apply this formula to clothes shopping without much success. It’s difficult so I’ve started with “buy a piece, throw one (or two) out.” It seems to be working and it’s making me focus more on whether it will work practically with what I already own or whether I just want it and wear it once (or never) and it will live in the back of my closest. My other reason for doing this is that I’m sick of providing my friends with amazing pieces of clothing that just aren’t me or suit me because I’ve bought them for no good reason.

I’m hoping that thinking about products in this way will make me reevaluate my approach to shopping and clutter.

It’s frustrating because thinking about some of the products I’ve owned, I’ve only used a couple of times before deciding they weren’t for me. It seems like such a waste to just throw them away but there really isn’t anything else to do with them. Especially when you consider hygiene issues surrounding things like eye liner, lipsticks etc.

Anyway, here are my first 5 products that I’ve chucked.

image

Vaseline total moisture aloe fresh spf 15: I have loved this moisturiser. Non greasy, easy to use, smell isn’t overpowering and it’s SPF 15+ which is great! You also don’t need alot of the product which makes it last quite a long time. This is a product that I will definitely be repurchasing and at around $12.00, it’s pretty worth it!

The Aromatherapy Co Rose and Patchouli Hand and Nail Cream: I went through my phases with this hand cream. Some days I loved it and some I hated it. Some days I loved the smell, some days it was too overpowering. Although it didn’t leave my hands greasy, they also didn’t feel super nourished either. This product is one that I won’t be purchasing again.

Clarisonic Refreshing Gel Cleanser: I received this cleanser when I bought my Clarisonic last December and have only started using it. I really love it. It’s gentle and you need the tiniest bit of product and it goes a long long way. I have quite a few ‘favourite’ cleansers so based on that alone, I probably wouldn’t buy this one again but if I were to ever get rid of my favourites now, I would definitely keep this one in mind.

Dove Silky Nourishment Body Cream: All I will say is this: WOW. Love this cream. It is silky just as the name suggests, smells divine, you need a tiny little bit and your skin feels so damn nourished especially when you’ve body brushed, had a shower and then applied. This has to be one of my favourite body creams of all time. At $9.50 is most places for 300ml, it’s pretty damn worth it. I’m really bummed that this is one of the first ones to go as I just want to go out and replace it!

Nivea Rich Nourishing Body Moisturiser for Dry Skin: I received this sample in a Glossy Box or I Love This Box or one of those and because it’s so small I usually only used it on my hands. As a hand cream I quite like it. It’s very rich so I tended to only use it when my hands felt really dry or straight after washing my hands with soap/detergent and water.

So I’m 5 down with 45 to go! i wonder how long this will take me!

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Health, Project 50 Pan, The Happiness Project and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Project 50 Pan – 5 down!

  1. metillyli says:

    This is a really good idea, I haven’t heard of it before. I think my bank balance would appreciate it if I had ago at this too.

  2. Pingback: Slim Kicker Fitness Trial | xxxmissvxxx

  3. Pingback: Product Review: Savvy by DB Nail Polish in Sangria | xxxmissvxxx

  4. Pingback: Project 50 Pan – 6 more down! | xxxmissvxxx

  5. Pingback: Project 50 Pan – 2 More Down! | xxxmissvxxx

Leave a Reply

