1000 Steps

Yesterday I took the day off as it was beautiful and my boy and I went to the 1000 steps Kokoda walk. It’s a walk that sort of mimics the Kokoda trail in Papua New Guinea. As the name suggests, you walk up a trail that leads to 1000 steps (I’ve heard whispers that there’s actually only 776 steps but I’m not too sure how accurate they are).

We left at about 10 am and arrived at 11 am. It was such a beautiful day and once you’ve parked you find an area where there is information about the Kokoda trail and what happened there.

This was the first image I saw.

image

These 4 words – Courage, Endurance, Mateship, Sacrifice – were the motto of the troops.

The below photos are more information about the track and about the different battalions involved (you can occasionally see my partner and some chick in the photos… the surfaces were very reflective).

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I really like understanding the history behind it and only wish that I had read this before I did the walk rather than after. I think it would have had a much more profound effect if I had done it first.

The track itself was beautiful, if not very wet. This is a giant tree that had fallen over.

image

When we reached the top of the track, we were having a rest and heard this deafening crack which sounded alot like thunder or a jet but no. It was actually a tree falling over and smashing into other trees and the ground. You could see the other trees swaying and everyone there sort of looked at each other, packed up their belongings and started back down the track!

image

This is the boy searching for koalas. He assured me there weren’t any but I wanted him to make sure… (I knew there wouldn’t be any).

image

Pretty scenery!

image

They had these plaques spread out on the track. It lets you compare where you are and where you would be if you were doing the Kokoda track. It was quite interesting to see it.

image

This is another giant tree. It was so giant that I couldn’t see the top of it. The tree next to it had fallen over and it seemed to stretch for miles.

image

Isn’t it pretty? I just want to roll in it as it looks so comfy but I’m sure it’s not!

The track itself was hard work. I haven’t really exercised much in the last couple of months as I’ve been seriously unmotivated but this was a good start. It was hard work and my legs are killing today but it was worth it. The only thing I didn’t like was that I kept slipping as the track was wet but other than that it was really fun. Next time I’m going to bring some picnic food or something as they have numerous bbq’s and huts you can sit in to eat so I think that would be fun to do with a few friends.

It was really nice and I’ve discovered that I actually like walking. It’s fun and I really do enjoy being in that sort of setting. I’ve demanded that the boy and I do more of these things as we tend to just sit around and eat when we’re together but this is a much healthier way to enjoy the day!

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Fitness, Health, Motivate Me and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1000 Steps

  1. Madeupmaiden says:

    What a great post! I loved your photos! And yes, I know what you mean, sometimes something will look completely inviting when it’s really not, haha.

    I’ve never been to the 1000 steps but have heard lots about it…good on you for finishing them!

Leave a Reply

