My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding

I have this sick fascination with watching My Big Fat Gypsy Weddings. It’s one of those train wreck shows where I know I should look away but my eyes are glued to my screen and my face is twisted into this weird “wtf” expression as I try to figure out how anyone can still think that the only place they have in life is to be a wife and cook and clean and look after their husband.

Don’t get me wrong. I have absolutely nothing against that as a lifestyle choice. But as long as it is a choice. These girls don’t have the choice. They can’t have that choice. They don’t know that there is even anything else out there for them. They aren’t allowed to work, as it reflects badly on the husband. They aren’t allowed to do anything.

They marry young, never experiencing life. most haven’t finished school and dream about their wedding day. And that’s all they really dream off. Dreams stop once you’re married. I understand customs and traditional more than people give me credit for. Hell, how do you think I managed to survive in Australia when my parents are quite traditionally Chilean? I know about blending two cultures but it makes me sad that so many girls are raised in a way that gives them no opportunities.

It’s hard to change a concept quickly. Lack of education obviously slows down the moving forward aspect and considering most of the gypsy world are not educated or educated formally, it’d be hard to make any real change.

I don’t know. I guess I’ll keep watching in sick revolution that men can treat women so badly and not realise there is anything wrong with it. Obviously as an outsider it’s much easier to judge and when you grow up with certain views, it’s very hard to see why there would be anything wrong with what you’ve been raised to believe.

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Random Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

