I Told You So

I’m an ‘I told you so’ person. You know, letting someone do the wrong thing, knowing that they’re wrong just so I can say that I was right. Not for big things though but little things. Things like listening to my boyfriend when he says we have to leave even though I know his friends will be late and I’ll miss the end of my show. But I’ll listen to him and do what he wants just so I can hold it against him later.

This happened a few weekends ago. I was in the middle of watching the season 1 final episode of ‘Make It or Break It’ and the damn thing wouldn’t buffer at a normal speed so watching a 43 minute episode became a huge, time consuming ordeal. Anyway, at 23 minutes in, my boyfriend cracked it and demanded that we go. I caved, despite knowing in every fibre of my being that as his friends had been at the races all day, they would not arrive anywhere near our agreed time.

And I was right.

They showed up an hour late. Whilst I sat there waiting, twiddling my thumbs and playing Words with Friends, I was wishing that I’d bought my damn laptop so I could watch the end of my show in the car!

Why don’t people listen to me more often? With things like this I’m usually more right than wrong. But it’s one of those things isn’t it? I mean, my boy likes being punctual and that’s one of the things I love about him, his need to show respect to those around him by doing what he says when he says them.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t give him hell for it but I will bring it up next time he wants to leave somewhere when I’m in the middle of something important!

I also occasionally take his advice when driving somewhere if I’m not super sure where I’m going, even though I know I have a much better sense of direction than he does. He’ll get us lost and I’ll find our way back. I do this every so often. Just enough for him to remember that more often than not, I’m going to be right! I’m hoping that eventually he’ll just trust that I’m always going to be right!

Are you good at being right?

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

