Intuitive Eating – Week 3

Week 3 was interesting. I ate alot less than I usually would and found that I wasn’t any hungrier than I would have been had I eaten the amount I normally would have given myself. I’m finally in a place where I really realise that I can eat whenever I want and don’t have to overdo it in case I won’t be able to eat in a long time. To help this I’ve started carrying muffin bars in my bag and keeping museli bars in the car in case I do get hungry.

I think I’ve dropped a kilo as well which is a nice side effect but not something that I was actively looking to happen. I’ve paid a lot of attention to the food cravings I’ve been having and they really have been things that I had been lacking. I found that when I craved chocolate I hadn’t had a lot of dairy in the past two days, when I craved sugary lollies it was because I hadn’t eaten any particularly sweet fruits like bananas and strawberries so it’s been really interesting to see just how smart my body is.

But back to the eating less, I’ve been serving myself smaller portions and when in restaurants I’ll order an entree size if I’m not starving because I can always get something else at home if I really want it. I’ve tried to keep my pantry and fridge stocked with a variety of things (which is hard as my dad and nana eat everything) so when I crave something I can eat it straight away and not eat other things to substitute and then going out and buying it anyway and eating 4 times as much as I would have.

I’ve found that I really love artichokes. So much so that I buy about 3 jars of them a week and just demolish them. I still really also love avocados, I don’t like my eggs fried and can handle them scrambled but really prefer them poached. I love celery with a little bit of apple cider vinegar, oil and lemon. Tomatos with a bit of oil and feta/ricotta/cottage/goats cheese and a bit of bread is also a delicious meal.

I think it’s time for me to get a bit more creative with my foods. When I’ve been eating things, I’ve really stopped to think about what I’m eating, how it tastes, how it smells, what I like about it and what I don’t like about it. A couple of weeks back I discovered that I don’t like lamingtons and during week 3 I discovered that I don’t like meringues despite previously eating them just because they were there. I’ve been craving sashimi alot because I don’t eat much tuna anymore as it makes me feel sick.

It’ll be interesting to see how I go this Saturday as I’m going to a buffet that includes seafood (my favourite). I probably will go overboard but it doesn’t really matter. A stuff up every so often is not the end of the world

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Eating, Health, Intuitive Eating, Weekly Log and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Intuitive Eating – Week 3

  1. Have you tried fresh artichokes? That is really cool how you discovered the connection between your cravings and food.

Leave a Reply

