Facebook Culling

I joined facebook in 2006 before the craze took over. This was the time when you could only join if you had an email that was registered with a university or learning institution. My friends and I jumped on board when a friend did an exchange semester to London and she discovered it and convinced us all to join. Fair to say we didn’t use it much in that first year but it was handy as a means of catching up.

After that, it was made available to the general public and it became common to add anyone and everyone you had ever spent any time with.

I finished high school in 2004 and by 2008 my facebook was filled with the 70 girls that I went to school with, most that I didn’t have much to do with and only a few that I did.

By about 2010 I got sick of all these people who didn’t really care what I was up to and frankly I didn’t care about. So I deleted them all. And because of last week, I’m glad I did.

See my list of friends on facebook is quite small. It would be smaller but I started hiding people that annoy me rather than delete. Coward I know but it’s easier to deal with. But last week I bumped into a girl that I went to school with, who I was incredibly close to in year 12 but had drifted apart after high school. No falling out or anything, just growing up and moving in different directions.

So it was good to see her. And it was really good. Because in all honesty, I had no idea what she had been up to in the past 5 years. We spoke the entire train trip, catching up on the big things in our lives because neither of us knew what was going on in each others lives because we didn’t have each other on facebook.

Alot of times when I see people I know I sort of dread coming face to face with them because I already know the big things going on so there’s really no excitement. I mean, I bumped into a girl, again from high school who recently got engaged and she excitedly showed off her ring to me. I didn’t tell her that I’d already seen the ring because she had posted it on facebook and everyone had already had the discussion about how nice it was, how much it was worth etc etc.

Whilst I still use facebook, I’ve decided to clean it up again. I’m going to delete most of the people I’ve hidden because I haven’t given them a second thought since I did it. And I really don’t care what most of them are up to. I don’t need to know all the goss about people I knew years back.

Here is a list of reasons I hide people.

  • They are negative. Everything they post is negative. I don’t mind the occasional negative post, hey we all need to vent but constant negative status just make me angry.
  • Sympathy Seekers. Those people that post “:(” as a status and then when someone asks what’s wrong they say they don’t want to talk about it. If you don’t want to talk about it, don’t post it on facebook.
  • Constant updaters. If you have nothing more interesting to say than “I ate toast for breakfast” and all your 54 updates for the day are like that, then you will be hidden/deleted.
  • Gamers. My feed seems to be taken up mostly by facebook telling me how many points someone has won on x game.

There are some people that I would like to get rid of but provide some sort of sick fascination for me. So I keep them. Others have hilarious updates or provide really cool links and videos. Ideally I’d love to just have a small number of people on there but it’s a bit like high school – you can’t do anything without everyone knowing about it!

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Facebook Culling

  1. Oh, I can relate! Your daring to delete some. I ended closing my first one that I got while in college, then creating a new one about 1 1/2 later, that I keep mostly close friends, family and business people. I have also un-subscribed to some people ( even family), because I couldn’t deal with their status updates, lol ( for reasons you stated). But just so you know, you are not alone for how you feel about FB! 🙂 PS I have used Instagram more recently more to share pictures with friends instead of on FB.

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      Facebook is the only social thing where I have people I know personally. My twitter, instagram, pinterest (still can’t get into it!) and blog have people that I’ve met online or people that I don’t know at all. I like having that distinction.

      It’s funny how something as silly as updates can be so frustrating!

  2. Ingrid says:

    I too joined FB in 06 because the American exchange students told us about it and it looked cool. I sort of dislike that my uni email is used for the login because it is so long but that’s not too bad. I purposely have a “low” friend count because I only want to have people that I like and know there. It’s a great way to keep in touch with my family and friends back home and I love it although it can be a massive time waster too:) x

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      I hate the uni email too! They are always so damn long! I think facebook certainly has it’s benefits but I feel that at times it’s too much overshare between people that you probably wouldn’t necessarily tell things to face to face.

Leave a Reply

