Product Review: Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash

image

I’ve never really used Neutrogena before, however as my skin just chucked a massive tantrum and decided to be all gross (that’s what stress and shit eating do to you) I decided to try something a little stronger than my Sukin products. Don’t get me wrong, I love Sukin however they tend to use more natural ingredients and I needed something a bit more chemical based for the time being and considering this only cost me $9.95 at Priceline the other day, I figured it was a good enough to try now.

What did I think about it?

At first I hated the smell. Obviously it’s a more chemical smell than I’m used to but I quickly got over that. I used it once and immediately felt that it was really cleaning my skin. It also stung a little as I got some in my eyes but that was just me being careless really. It frothed very nicely, rubbed in well and I didn’t need a large amount to wash my entire face. Afterwards my face felt very dry and tight which was expected as the it contains salicylic acid (2%).

image

Salicylic acid can be very drying and its important that if you haven’t used products with it before to build up to everyday use. I started once a day as I’ve used salicylic acid in products before and after a week I used it both morning and night and I have noticed a great improvement inn my skin. I’m still breaking out because I’m still quite stressed at the moment (I tell you, whilst it’s great buying  a house before Christmas because you get everything as presents, it’s damn stressful trying to save when you also have to buy presents).

So I really do like the product but I will say the downfall is that you can’t use it on your eyes. The acid is very drying and so can cause your eyelids to flake if you use it to take your eye make up off. I normally do this with other cleansers but can’t with this one so I’m rinsing my eye makeup off with the Sukin cleanser and using the Neutrogena for the rest of my face.

I did read in Feed Your Face by Jessica Wu that you should use two products and alternate which days you use them – one product containing Salicylic Acid and one with Benzoyl Peroxide. I use a product with benzoyl peroxide once a week when I remember and I do notice a slight difference but once I finish some of the other cleansers I have, I’ll try this alternating thing but for now, this has been really good!

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Product Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

