New Year Resolutions

I’ve never really been one for New Year Resolutions. To me, most people just say the stuff that they feel they should do but never do because they don’t really want to do it in the first place. Things like be healthier, exercise more, eat better, no drinking, no smoking etc. I mean they’re all good things but most people don’t mean them. Which is funny because they are going to be mine for next year.

The one I’m focusing on is being healthier because all the others ones I’ve mentioned come under this umbrella.

Exercise More: I want to exercise more without having to join a gym. I’ve already started this by getting off at a stop early on the train and walking the extra distance to and from work. I do stretches, push ups and sit ups most nights, as well as squats. Exercising doesn’t have to mean getting completely sweaty. To me, I feel better when I do a little bit each day instead of one big workout once a week. For me it helps to do a little a night as I’m quite interested in improving my flexibility and doing something everyday makes you notice that extra length you’re going.

Eat Better: I want to eat healthier. I want to be better prepared for when I do get hungry and have the options of healthy snacks instead of junk foods. I want to crave salads and veggies instead of chocolate and cakes. This doesn’t mean that I’ll cut them out completely because I don’t believe in that, but I want to be able to satisfy my hunger without going overboard with junk food.

No Drinking: I’m not a binge drinker but I do drink most nights. This usually equates to 2 – 3 glasses a wine a night so not massively bad but still more than I really need. The good thing is, is that I don’t have heaps of drinks in one night. Well I have but it’s very rare, usually only on my birthday or something like that so I figure once a year isn’t too bad but I want to cut out on those random glasses on week nights that I don’t really need.

No Smoking: It’s the same with drinking. I don’t actually smoke that much so it’s hard to convince myself that I really need to quit because truthfully, I enjoy smoking. I enjoy breathing it in and I enjoy the social aspect of it. These obviously aren’t good enough reasons to continue but its hard to rationalise not smoking when I go through a pack every 3 or so weeks. But I want to eventually stop for future health reasons and also, smoking is terrible for my skin so I really should stop seeing as it’s so bad for it.

Part of taking better care of myself is also taking better care of my skin. Not only does this mean eating better and drinking more water, it also means that I need to find products that do good things for my skin, and not cause it irritation. I like using natural products so I’ll be doing a bit of surfing to find different methods to try.

I’m looking forward to it and making a difference to my health!

Do you have any New Years Resolutions?

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Eating, Fitness, Health, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Year Resolutions

  1. ShelbyF says:

    Good luck with your resolutions. I know mine is to hit the gym more. I go once or twice a week now but irely need to step up my game. So good luck to you and your resolutions.

  2. zoekatarina says:

    Good call on the little bit of exercise more often Val; I totally agree, you don’t need to get mega sweaty to still stretch and work all the little muscles that make you toned. In fact I think it’s better than thrashing around on a treadmill or a rowing machine, it’s more concentrated and deliberate movements than that.
    I haven’t even thought about new years’ resolutions! Prolly to work harder with my business, think more openly about how to tackle its problems. Oh and to be the best gf I can be to my new boy 🙂
    Congrats on the house btw Val, that is BRILLIANT x

  3. Ingrid says:

    Good luck with the resolutions lovely! I have started writing down mine but I am not being too hard on myself. Xx

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      I think when you have too many or they have no room for flexibility is when people tend to fail. Having a goal is great but it’s not the worst thing in the world if it’s not met!

Leave a Reply

