The Oil Cleansing Method (OCM)

I’ve been doing a fair bit of reading lately about skin care and healthcare. I just finished the book “The Clear Skin Prescription : The Perricone Program to Eliminate Problem Skin by Nicholas Perricone” which has been really informative. It gives you a lot to think about in terms of how your diet can affect your skin. Nicholas mentions numerous times that many dermatologists and skin care professionals argue against the notion that what you eat can affect breakouts yet a few doctors including Nicholas and Jessica Wu (author of Feed Your Face), have recently come out with pretty convincing arguments that it really does make a difference.

After reading the book, I did a bit of surfing on the net about healthy foods and oils and came across the Oil Cleansing Method. I currently use coconut oil as a moisturiser however have found it to lose it’s effectiveness for me. For most people, the idea of cleansing with oil seems to make little sense but to me it makes perfect sense.

Why?

Because like dissolves like.

But what does that actually mean?

Well your skin produces oil to keep it healthy and the build up of oil can affect your skin. Generally speaking, we use oil free products to clean the skin but it goes dry and produces more oil to make up for the lack of oil on your face. And this cycle just continues until you decide to break it.

For most people, the above cycle works fine but for me, I constantly have problems with my skin. It’s not really terrible but it’s enough to bother me and it’s not clear enough to be able to go make up free to work or out. So what OCM does is it allows the oils to dissolve the impurities in your skin, allowing your pores to regroup and function as they should.

The OCM method is quite simple. Firstly you blend two types of oil together, the first being Castor Oil. Castor Oil acts as an anti-inflammatory, anti-bacterial and anti-fungal. It also contains antioxidants, vitamin E and other minerals that boost your skin’s health. This is the oil that will deep clean your skin. The secondary oil is generally a moisturising oil. You can use coconut oil, sunflower seed oil, extra virgin olive oil – basically any vegetable based oil. It’s important to try to use the most pure, organic version as your face will be wanting to soak up the nutrients it’s providing.

The blending of oils is where it gets difficult, mostly because your skin is different to the next person and caster oil can be drying. Generally speaking most people follow the below ratios:

  • Oily Skin: Try a blend of 30% Castor Oil to 70% Secondary Oil
  • Balanced Skin: Try a blend of 20% Castor Oil to 80% Secondary Oil
  • Dry Skin: Try a blend of 10% Castor Oil to 90% Secondary Oil

From what I understand so far, it really is a trial and error process. If your skin feels too dry afterwards, add more secondary oil, if it’s too oily, add more castor oil.

Once you have mixed the blend, you need to put a small amount in your palm (size of a 20c piece) and rub your hands together to warm up the oil and then massage it onto your face. Work on problem areas and rub for a few minutes. One of the benefits I have read is that the oil blend will wipe off makeup including eye make up so you don’t need to cleanse or remove makeup prior to using the OCM. Once you have finished rubbing, wet a face towel with hot water and place it on your face until it cools and gently wipe off the excess oil. You may need to repeat this a few times so the oil comes away and remember not to scrub as this can aggravate your skin!

Once you have done that you shouldn’t need to moisturise afterwards (remembering that the secondary oil should be a moisturising one) but if you feel dry whilst working out your ratios, use a bit of the oil, rub your hands and dab over your face. The next morning you shouldn’t cleanse as you can overdo the OCM and a wipe of your face with a hot towel will be sufficient. Afterwards it’s a case of seeing how your skin feels as to whether you need to moisturise or not.

I’m yet to try it out. I’ve ordered my Castor Oil online as I’ve had difficulty finding it over the last few days and will have to wait 5 – 7 days before I receive it. I’ll be trying it with coconut oil first as I still have some left over and then moving onto extra virgin oil olive once the coconut oil runs out. Basically I’m hopeful that OCM will work for me but after having great results with manuka honey and coconut oil and then having them lose their effectiveness, it has made me slightly skeptical that this treatment will hold for me. But I will be trying it and I will be documenting it as I figure, what do I have to lose?

Side Note: If you are interested in a few books about diet and skincare, check out Sparkley Pink Lemons page here.

About xxxMissVxxx

I'm Valentina. And I'm pretty awesome!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Oil Cleansing Method (OCM)

  1. Great information!! I have read about Castor oil and considered trying it out! Thanks for the mention, I will be soon be offering services to help people with skin issues with my new business. Will let ya know when new website it up and running!!

    • xxxMissVxxx says:

      excellent! I’m looking forward to giving it a go. I tried it just with extra virgin olive oil and it was quite nice really so I’m anxious to find out what sort of difference the castor oil makes!

  2. Pingback: Product Review: Oil Cleansing Method (OCM) Pre-review | xxxmissvxxx

  3. Pingback: OCM – One Month Later | xxxmissvxxx

Leave a Reply

